Post a new topic
    3 Replies Latest reply on Oct 14, 2008 10:38 AM by GrowthCurve

for profit or non profit if I want to help the community?

brillante Newbie

I want to help my community and I am leaning towards creating a non-profit organization, however I am concerned that I have bills to pay. I have a business degree, graduated 4 years ago and work for corporate america. My company is not looking so good and I might be unemployed soon, but I will receive a nice severance package. I come from an entrepeneurial family and I feel this is my chance to break free from corporate america. My real desire is to help others which is why I am considering a non profit organization. I have a business idea, but I don't know if I should create a for profit or non-profit business? I don't want to be rich, but the cost of living in southern CA is pretty high. I don't want to shoot myself in the foot. How can I find out more info about salaries for non-profits? Any advise or knowledge?
        • Re: for profit or non profit if I want to help the community?
          LUCKIEST Guide
          I want to help the community.

It would be nice to know your first name, but I will work around that.
          If I have a business degree and wanted to help the community I would do the following.

Contact SCORE. SCORE is FREE
          Develop a Business Plan
          Find yourself a Lawyer and an Accountant.

Whether you form a Profit or a Non Profit, you still can draw a salary. That is why you need
          to contact SCORE, Speak to both the Lawyer and the Accountant.

Best of luck, LUCKIEST
          • Re: for profit or non profit if I want to help the community?
            Lighthouse24 Ranger