Post a new topic
    5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 26, 2010 4:31 PM by PepperEyes

Bidding on State and Goverment contracts

b2btech Wayfarer
      I was just wondering if anybody had any experience with bidding on state or goverment level contract? I have never won any thing that I have bid on and it appears to me that you have to settle for very little profit in order to win the bid. Plus competition is very fierce!! I would like to know what some of your thoughts are on this. If you have ever won a bid please tell me about your experience.
        • Re: Bidding on State and Goverment contracts
          Lighthouse24 Ranger

I have some limited experience (with training programs). Yes, the profit margin is lower, but it's offset by the fact that government entities generally pay very fast and the check is always good -- plus (because it can be a hassle for them to rebid) extensions are not uncommon -- so any resulting "additional" work doesn't involve the advertising or marketing costs it would take to win an equivalent amount of new work in the open market.

Yes, competition can be fierce, and I've only made a "short list" in instances where I could meet a mandatory that most competitors couldn't -- for example, having a security clearance and being up-to-date on government mandated safety and awareness programs is sometimes specified and helps me. Likewise, we once lost a bid that was perfect for my firm -- solely because I didn't specify a capability to conduct the course in (of all things) Creole, as well as in English.