Post a new topic
    4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 29, 2008 6:11 PM by ALL_SQUARE

Line of Credit with Vendor

HappyMe Newbie
      I'm new to this, but I'm filling out an application for a line of credit with a vendor we have. I need someone to please explain this to me in plain English. The end of the application reads, "The applicant, through execution of this docuent, grants JoeVendor and it's/or subsidiaries, a purchase money security interest in all inventory/product identified as "JoeVendor" and in all proceeds thereof.

Then it has a fill in the blank section:

"The applicant by way of execution of this document provides JoeVendor with a blanket resale certificate for the below named company with Resale Certificate #________________ recorded in the State of_____________Date Recorded___________Exp Date___________"

In summary, these are my big questions:

1. what is their disclaimer really saying
      2. What is a certificate number and where do I find it?

Thanks for all your help!
        • Re: Line of Credit with Vendor
          LUCKIEST Guide
          Line of Credit with Vendor

HappyMe, Welcome.. Do you have a Lawyer??

If this was my business I would check with my Lawyer before signing.

Good luck, LUCKIEST
            Lighthouse24 Ranger

This is a PMSI -- vendors use it with new or struggling businesses rather than just turning them down for a line of credit. What these say, in essence, is that you are agreeing to use the proceeds from the sale of any of their products to pay them before you use that money to pay other creditors -- and that if you default on payment to them, go into bankruptcy, etc. that you are agreeing to let them come in and repossess their products out of your inventory.