Post a new topic
    10 Replies Latest reply on Aug 26, 2008 2:50 PM by joyenterprise

need advice

lorimar Newbie

I'm starting a new online business with a friend. can anyone give me some idea where to begin?

Also my friend tells me that she should be doing all the business set up since she knows more about it, and I should be making some of the merchandize (Some of my things will go up on the website), she will not be making the merchandize.
      I didn't think it was a good idea since I feel that we should do the setting up together, but perhaps I'm wrong about this.
      When she tells me to concentrate on making the merchandize and she will do the set up to me it indicates that I am working as an employee and not as a business partner. Her husband is creating the website and she wants him to also do the accounting.
      Perhaps I'm being overly cautious but, then again I'm new at this and want to be fair.
      Do you have some advice?
        • Re: need advice
          Lighthouse24 Ranger
          It sounds like you'll want to confirm your status -- do you have ownership interest in the company, or are you an employee of the company? If you have ownership interest, you'll want to immediately get copies of all the company's start-up filings (registration, organizing documents, etc.). If you're an employee (assuming that this firm is located in the USA), then the company has specific obligations under state and federal law, and you have specific rights. It's completely fair for you to know exactly where you stand, and to expect to work and benefit accordingly -- it not fair for your friend to have it both ways (treat you as a partner or an employee, at her convenience). Good luck.
          1 of 1 people found this helpful
            LUCKIEST Guide
            need advice, Welcome.

Lighthouse always has great answers. Friends do NOT always make good business partners.
            Tell us more about you, YOUR?? business and where you are located??