Post a new topic
    1 Reply Latest reply on Aug 16, 2008 10:13 AM by Lighthouse24

Pointers needed for my slow starting food service business

jessegarces Newbie
      Hello, My name is Jesse Garces, located in Fort Worth, Texas. My brother and I recently started our own "small" business in food service. My problem is that I came to this idea blind folded. I have no previous experience in business running nor have I ever worked in a food chain environment. Basically, our business start up came out of a blank shot but we are doing pretty good I would say. Not nearly as close to were I want to be but with my inexperience, I think I'm managing well. Can anyone give me some pointer tips on what I need to do to make my business legit?

Thanks a million!

Jesse Garces
      Simple Foods
        • Re: Pointers needed for my slow starting food service business
          Lighthouse24 Ranger
          Congratulations on your start-up. There are a number of small businesses in my area (Austin) that deliver breakfast tacos/burritos to offices and other workplaces. Assuming that your business is somewhat similar, the keys are (a) having a great product and (b) building a customer base that provides repeat business -- which takes a little time (there aren't many cost effective ways to make sales grow faster for businesses like that). So if things are working now and you're clearing a profit, keep doing what you're doing (while looking for ways to reduce costs and overhead without reducng quailty) -- and growth will continue steadily.