Post a new topic
    6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 12, 2008 5:34 AM by alaskasnowguy

Help on the definition of a legal binding contract.

alaskasnowguy Newbie
      I use a service agreement contract that I wrote up, and it was intended to be legal binding.

I recently signed a corperate client. Couple months go by and find out my contact (person in charge of signing contracts) has left the company. His boss told me my contract was not legally binding and that he could get out of it.

Does service agreements and contracts have to be prepared by a lawyer to be legal binding? In order to hold up if a employee of a company leaves?

Any help would be great.
        • Re: Help on the definition of a legal binding contract.
          LUCKIEST Guide
          Help on the definition of a legal binding contract

I am NOT a Lawyer. Was the contract signed by both you and this corporate client??

A signed contract is usually binding. (In the old gays, a handshake was binding)

Everybody in business should have a Lawyer, An Accountant and an Insurance Agent.

Good luck, LUCKIEST
          1 of 1 people found this helpful
            Lighthouse24 Ranger
            My question to the boss would have been (or would be), "Why would you WANT out of the contract? Your man negotiated tough, and you're getting a great product/service from me at a great price. . . Why in the world would you want out of a deal like that?"

If there's a good reason, it doesn't make sense (to me) to try to bind a customer with legal ties if he doesn't want to do business with you. It's only going to create resentment that may do you more harm than the revenue is worth. On the other hand, if the boss doesn't have a good reason, you get a chance to sell and close him (the REAL decision-maker) . . . which could mean the contract gets renewed in the future and you get some good referrals.

Hope that helps. Best wishes.
            1 of 1 people found this helpful
                alaskasnowguy Newbie