Post a new topic
    7 Replies Latest reply on Sep 5, 2008 10:04 AM by BetterMeInc

How do I start a payrol for my only 1 employee?

MillionMaker Newbie
      I am a real estate agent. I am in the process of hiring my first assistant. How do I go about paying her without signing up with a payrole solution? Is there a "do it yourself" package out there I can read/purchase? What should I estimate for the taxes I have to pay per every $ I pay my new assitant? If I pay her $35,000 a year, how much taxes and what kind of taxes should I pay to IRS? Your help is greatly appreciated.
        • Re: How do I start a payrol for my only 1 employee?
          LUCKIEST Guide
          How do I start a payroll for my only 1 employee??, Welcome

Tell us more. Tell us about your business, where you are located and how long you have been in business.

As far as payroll you the employer, are responsibile required by government agencies.
          These agencies include federal, state and/or local. Some of the
          responsibilities include withholding amounts from your employees'
          compensation to cover income tax, social security, and Medicare.

Do you have an Accountant?? All employees MUST fill out a form saying how many exemptions to withhold.
          There are many books, some FREE from the govt, telling you how much to withhold.
          There are also outside payroll services that will do your payroll.

Good luck, LUCKIEST
            A_Ellicott Adventurer
            By far the simplest method is signing up for a payroll service. I'll go ahead a give a plug to Bank of America and say that their's is pretty easy and simple. However, that could be a little pricy for just one employee.

One problem with "do it yourself" packages is that they may not address your specific industry or location. While there are federal employment laws, each state has its own unemployment taxes, some states have state income taxes, some don't etc.