Post a new topic
    14 Replies Latest reply on Jul 31, 2008 6:27 PM by afsn1766

Need $415,000.00 ASAP - I'm Already Under Contract

GoodGuy Newbie
      So, I make $100K today, $110K on 8/1/08, and $125K on 10/1/08 for a company I've been with for 3 years as of 10/1/08 (my starting salary was just $50K, so I've made signicant progress and have much more room to grow). I'm a lawyer. My wife makes $135K today, $150K as of 8/1/08 and she'll make approximately $250K as of 8/1/2009 (she's the 10th doctor in a group in which she will make partner, by contract, as of 8/1/09). We have $54K in the bank today because I've been a lawyer only 3 years, and she's been an attending physician only 1 year. My credit score is apprx 800. Her credit score apprx 750. However, we also have substantial combined student loans of about $230K, unsecured debt of less than $25K, and a current mortgage of less than $200K on the house we now own.

We want a magnificent new home of 4700+ Sq. Ft. of living space. It's a builder's model. It should appraise for no less than $484,000 (my most conservative estimate based on past experience as a Tax Assessor prior to law school at UCLA, plus having looked in the local market for the past year). The builder claims the house is worth $502K. We agreed to purchase for $415K, which is frankly a heck of a deal no matter who appraises.