Post a new topic
    5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 2, 2009 11:35 AM by franklinb

Most important SEO skills to Start an SEO Business?

rontowns25 Adventurer
      Hi everybody. I'm an extremely tech savvy person that is obssessed with online business. I want to start a small scale SEO business with a target customer, intitially, of small scale internet/brick and mortar businesses earning roughly 2 million and under in revenues. I think this would be a good place to start, build some traction, build a small business customer base, and move forward.

Small business may present a unique opporutnity. They are trying to do whatever it takes to gain the edge on their competition. The downside is that they do not always have the budgets to spend on SEO. I have about a year of SEO experience.

What are the most necessary SEO skills that you need to know to be able to sell your work as a service?

What is a good pricepoint for SEO?

Any tips here would help. Also, you guys can check out my tech blog if you'd like...
        • Re: Most important SEO skills to Start an SEO Business?
          SOHOguru Wayfarer
          The most important skill to start an SEO business is the ability to produce a portfolio of current performing key phrases searches (generic SERPs, high-level terms) for multiple sites. Make sure the key phrases are not so niche-specific. If key phrases aren't industy-wide, generic phrases, the SERPs do not mean much.

BrassJmes Adventurer
            I completely agree with Karen
            Selecting your keywords is one of the toughest and most important aspects of the SEO
            Doing it correctly is like walking on a thin cliff edge, one step in either direction could bring a fall (of visitors)

Even though, I do feel to stress the importance of links... having better PR means your keywords will get better results in search engines. after all, what good would a keyword do if, when searching for it, you're on the 5th page.