Post a new topic
    3 Replies Latest reply on Feb 27, 2009 2:22 PM by marykay

Anyone have advice on opening an Art Gallery, investors,etc?

jsbenjamin Newbie
      Hello, I am a free-lance artist. I have worked in some art galleries, sales, and in hospitality services for nine years now. I have always dreamed of operating my own art gallery - activating my personal passion for art in connection with reminding the public of how important the art culture is to our humanity. Then to open up others with a business plan similar to Martin Lawrence Galleries. I personally know several successful artists such as Wess Mills, Clyde Aspevig, Kirsten Moran, Eric S. Carlson, and Randall LaGro, just to name a few. All have offered to display their art work in my potential art gallery. It has always fascinated me how some people are driven to financially invest more money into a single piece of art than what others will earn in income over a lifetime. My credit is low. I've been told it will cost me $40,000 to start up. If anyone can offer me advice on how to find an investor, or how to go about corporate credit with low personal credit etc. I am open to all advice - both qualitative and quantitative.
        • Re: Anyone have advice on opening an Art Gallery, investors,etc?
          LUCKIEST Guide
          **Advice on opening an Art Gallery, Welcome<br /<br />Dreams can become real. Start at the beginning. Develop a Business and Marketing Plan.

Then dream up a Business Name??, Next contact SCORE. SCORE is FREE.

*Thanks for sharing "For those who do not understand how profit is earned by operating an
          art gallery: If a painting sells for $40,000 the sale is split 50/50.
          That's $20,000 for the artist and $20,000 for the gallery".*

Good luck, LUCKIEST
            Lighthouse24 Ranger