Post a new topic
    12 Replies Latest reply on Jul 18, 2008 1:57 PM by Sofulcooks

Help Building a web site

LEX_08 Wayfarer
      I am just starting out but i need to know about how to find a host and domain name etc. and also basically everything involved i want to do an wide range of things just reaching out for resources mainly
        • Re: Help Building a web site
          LUCKIEST Guide
          Help Building a web site

Do you know about SCORE?? SCORE is FREE both online and in person.
          SCORE goal is to help you succeed (and the price is right) FREE

Good luck, LUCKIEST
          1 of 1 people found this helpful
            webprogrammer Newbie
            I recommend going to godaddy.com to acquire a domain. You can search for available domain names and get set up for about $10 per yr.

Once the domain is setup, you can setup email accts with your domain name - much more professional than using a yahoo or aol email address. I believe each domain comes with 1 free email address, but of course you can pay to add more. Godaddy has an web-based email site that allows you to check your email - I prefer this because it gives me access to my email regardless of what pc I am using.

Also with the domain setup, you get a hosting acct for a website. You can set it up to be on a Windows server or Linux server. Which one to choose depends on what you need the website to perform. In either case, you can set up a website that will be broadcast your webpage(s) to the web.