Post a new topic
    8 Replies Latest reply on Jun 26, 2008 9:52 PM by lalithabrahma

Lawyers and Accountants

caffeinated Scout

Is a lawyer and an accountant a necessity when running your own business? Or are they nice-to-haves? I'm sure it all depends on the type of business you own and the amount of exposure you're willing to put on yourself. Just thought I'd ask.
        • Re: Lawyers and Accountants
          Iwrite Pioneer
          I firmly believe they are a necessity! Financing and law have become so complicated that it is important to have another set of eyes looking out for you.

As a writer, I always try to pass things through an editor or proofer. I have found that when I try to read over things that I have written that I read them as I think they should be not as I have actually written them. I cannot trust me to catch the mistakes. The other thing is that I do not stay constant on all the rules of grammar. I am too busy writing.

I think the same is true for law and finance - you can do it yourself but it is not what you are trained to do.
            Lighthouse24 Ranger

I believe the reality is that a small business requires you to do some things yourself, especially in the early stages. The average founder simply can't afford to bring in qualified professionals for everything to start with. In addition, I think the more you know about the basics of the law and accounting (or any other aspect of running your business, e.g., website maintenance, advertising and marketing, human resource development, etc.) the better decisions you'll make early on -- and the better you'll understand what you're handing over to other professionals as the business grows (and the better you'll be able to assess the quality and appreciate the value of what they do).