Post a new topic
    11 Replies Latest reply on Jan 4, 2010 1:36 PM by chrisrich

Retail gift shop needs POS-Inventory Mgt. System

mtolleson Newbie
      We are a 2400 sq. ft. gift shop/boutique that has been in a fire and all merchandise is smoke damaged. We are having to take a physical inventory because we have no system. Can anyone out there make a recommendation. I've looked at lots of systems but it's quite confusing! HELP!
        • Re: Retail gift shop needs POS-Inventory Mgt. System
          LUCKIEST Guide
          Retail gift shop needs POS-Inventory Mgt. System. Where are you located??

Welcome and sorry to hear about the fire. Hope you have good records and proper insurance.

I am a Quickbooks consultant and yes Quickbooks does a great job of keeping inventory.

Good luck, LUCKIEST
            mtolleson Newbie
            I'm located in middle GA. I currenty use QB for my accounting and enter customers transactions in sales/invoices. A friend with a clothing store uses QB POS and hasn't been 100% happy. Your reacation?!
                amspcs Ranger
                Re QuickBooks POS and your friend not being 100% happy. We have lots of QB POS systems out there, but I'm sure you can appeciate that nobody can please everybody. I'd have to know exactly what your friend is unhappy about in order to comment on it. Also, if he has an older system, he'd probably find the current version 7.0 to be a nice step forward. Some people do find QB a little unlike other systems they may have experience on, but all in all I have found it to be a quite dependable reasonably priced system with no major complaints, other then the fact that once you get the QB POS system you are pretty much limited to utillizing QB merchant services. That's not necessarily a bad thing...Intuit isn't a fly-by-night operator and they're reasonably competitive (not the cheapest, but certainly not the most expensive either).
                You could do a lot worse.