Post a new topic
    2 Replies Latest reply on Jun 17, 2008 9:38 AM by ITDLLC

Options for Start-Up to Finance Inventory

ITDLLC Newbie

Hello All,

Looking over this forum I see everyone here is very helpful. I hope you might be able to help me as well.

I recently started a business to design and sell an original line of plush toys. Before establishing this project, I worked as a sourcing and logistics consultant for American companies looking to offshore manufacturing to China.

So far I have sourced manufacturing (working with a terrific factory in Southern China, where I am now), designed packaging, established a firm and competitive price and developed marketing materials to go along with samples I plan to ship to prospective customers I indentified working with a former client of mine in the plush toy field.

Right now my biggest concern is how to finance the first series of shipments once I secure orders. I am planning for an approximate window of three months between the time when I must pay manufacturing and shipping costs and when I could expect payment from customers.

I would very much appreciate any advice you might have on how to navigate my short-term financing needs. I would be looking for a loan between USD20,000 and USD30,000. My particular experience (I am 24-years-old and have no collateral to speak of) leads me to believe this will be a daunting task despite my excellent (FICO over 750) credit score.

I thank you for any time and consideration you expend on my behalf.
        • Re: Options for Start-Up to Finance Inventory
          LUCKIEST Guide
          Options for Start-Up to Finance Inventory, Welcome

You recently started a business to design and sell an original line of plush toys. Great
          Do you have a Federal I D Number?? A Lawyer?? An Accountant??

How soon will it be before you secure orders?? Once you have orders, then you can factor
          the orders or use them as security for a loan.