Post a new topic
    8 Replies Latest reply on Oct 6, 2008 12:35 PM by Tony3143

Working Capital For Growth

ahirestaff Wayfarer
      My business has made a profit over the last three years, in fact we made a profit in the first five months that we opened our doors.
      We are currently running about a million a year in sales but our workers compensation costs are running about 72K per year due to the government taxes and the fact that we are in the high risk pool. I have not been able to get out of the high risk pool and I have tried many times. Our profit margins are being consumed by the high workers compensation costs.
      I have over ten years of experience in my industry and our company is becoming very popular.
      We are starting to grow at such a rapid rate that we can't cover our expenditures until our clients pay us. Maybe if our workers compensation costs were not as high we would have some breathing room. All of the financial institutions that we have been to are just looking at our personal credit which is good but maxed.
      I really don't understand why we are having a hard time getting a loan with all of the potential that our young company has.
      I am looking forward to a solid solution from an experienced business minded individual.
        • Re: Working Capital For Growth
          Tracker

Hi,

You didn't mention what kind of business or industry you are in but judging by your post name of "ahirestaff" I'm guessing you are in the staffing business. Of course my guess may be off base. At your size ... finding debt-based capital for growth is going to rest almost solely on your personal credit and collateral. Especially in tight credit markets. Without credit & collateral to get debt based funding, the only avenue you have is to try to raise capital by selling equity.