Post a new topic
    7 Replies Latest reply on Jun 6, 2008 10:06 AM by heretohelp

New LLC seeking funding

monolith5 Newbie
      Hello I own a new LLC in Oregon and I am seeking funding to purchase tools, machinery and supplies. I am a full-time electrical engineering student (almost done) and I have started a business building loudspeakers for musicians. My plan to move on to amplifiers for musicians but for now I am only doing loudspeaker cabinets. I have been in business for 6 months and I am not yet accepting credit cards. I realize that would open up my options but I have not made it to that point in my business. I am looking to get funding of $15,000 to invest into the business. I have an EIN with the state of Oregon but have not established much credit as a business. I have looked into getting loans from private lenders but unfortunately my personal credit is not that great at this point. I am in a difficult position because of that because I realize I need collateral to back the loan. Does anyone have any ideas or options for me? Thanks so much. Have a good day!
        • Re: New LLC seeking funding
          Bridge Navigator
          I am sure you will be spammed with numerous offer for "free" money so I will leave that subject alone.

Make sure you establish a "business' checking account.

For tax purposes, you might want to file a IRS Forms 2553 & 8332 allowing your LLC to be taxed as an "S" corp. The IRS doe snot really recognize LLCs as a taxable entity and will reclassify you unless you make your own elections.

You can easily and cheaply accpet credit cards by opening up a Paypal account. You can have people pay by e-mail invoice or on your website. You could even have them provide you their credit card info. and you enter into a paypal payment button on your website.

Talk to a reputable loan broker about assist you in obtaining a SBA backed loan - there are several programs available including "micro" loans that you can get without collateral.