Post a new topic
    9 Replies Latest reply on Jan 16, 2009 8:43 PM by Mamie2010

Possibility of opening the Restaurant.

PingPing Wayfarer
      I am studying the possibility of opening Thai restaurant (5-6 employees) in Murfreesboro, TN which is considered fastest growing county in TN.

Is there anyone who have been in Restaurant Business can give me an advise, I know this may sound nuts to open a restaurant in recession time. Especially, I would like to ask this question: "what do you wish you would have known before you start opening restaurant? "

I have registered for a couple workshops with SBA, workshop will start soon. However, I still want everyone input, please advise.

Thanks in advance.
      PingPing
        • Re: Possibility of opening the Restaurant.
          LUCKIEST Guide
          Possibility of opening the Restaurant, Welcome and good luck

Tell us more. The more info you share, the more I can add to my crystal ball and
          the better my advice to you.
          What is your background and why a restaurant?? How soon do you plan on opening??
          I am a SCORE Counselor in N Y and have helped others develop a Business and
          Marketing Plan for restaurants and then watch as they opened and prospered.
          If you know about the SBA, then you know about SCORE. SCORE is FREE

Good luck, LUCKIEST

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • Re: Possibility of opening the Restaurant.
            Tracker
            Hi,

One thing that I have observed from many years of working with entrepreneurs and business owners, is that the excitement of starting (or buying) their first business overtook some of their common sense and they failed to do some basic things before they started or bought the business.

First you should consider the starting point. That would be you. Some questions you should ask yourself:
            • Will becoming self-employed meet my goals?
            • Am I willing to work long hours each day?