Post a new topic
    4 Replies Latest reply on May 30, 2008 5:24 PM by amspcs

Starting a Buisness in an uncertain economy / recession

trademarkGFX Newbie
      I am a budding Graphics Designer at the ripe old age of 19, and I would love to take my trade to the masses and start my own buisness. However I am concerned by the way economy is fluxuating. Is it worth me going into buisness as an individual with no experience and little money? Or should I find an established Graphics Design company and either go in as an employee or perhaps seek a partnership?

Your thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

Brian Hall
      trademark Design
        • Re: Starting a Buisness in an uncertain economy / recession
          NatOnline Tracker
          Welcome,

The only advise I can give you is offering graphic design and web design to start. Then if you've got more money to buy photo equipment, try offering the photography service, often customers ask you to take care of their photo products for brochure, flyer, catalog, and portrait for business cards.

Good luck
          1 of 1 people found this helpful
            Tracker

Hi Brian,

Starting a business even in a strong economy requires determination and proper planning.

In an uncertain economy or recession ... those two things are even more important.

First things first; do you know that there is a market for your service?

Next question; are your skills good enough where you can do the work well?

If there is a market and you are good at what you do; then I would say give it a shot solo. Keep all your costs to a minimum and get out there and plug away; here is how I suggest doing that: