Post a new topic
    9 Replies Latest reply on May 23, 2008 10:40 PM by jnees1023

Who has a day job?

designer Tracker
      I was wondering...who has a day job?

What is stopping you from doing your own small business 100%

Is it benefits? Is it income? Are you just plain scared?

Are there people out here that took the leap from a steady 9 to 5 and just decided to do your own thing? If so...was it the BEST thing you ever did? or, do you now have REGRETS?

I think it would be helpful to hear some real-experiences. Thanks!
        • Re: Who has a day job?
          DomainDiva Ranger
          My day job is my aircraft technical consulting business and my start up is the baby.
            Iwrite Pioneer
            Day job - Freelance copywriter.

What is stopping me from doing my own? Having one or two clients on retainer. I have project work but it is hard to build an agency on project work. When I step out to do this, I'm out there - no turning back. No plan B. Only success.
              LUCKIEST Guide
              Who has a day job, Designer you ask good questions.
              This is a history lesson. 30 years ago, I had a day job. Controller of a Film Company.
              Set for life. Great salary, Company car, health Ins., Unlimited expense account etc.
              Then the company was bought out and so was my job.
              Read an ad in the N Y Times, Accountant selling his practice, moving to Israel.
              Took the leap. Big money at the time. More than our house.
              One of the best business moves (before knowing about business plans) second only to
              marrying my wife and buying our house.
              This was before computers and cell phones.
              No regrets, The business grew and grew, I made my own hours (except tax season)
              was home for my children and to play tennis when I wanted to.

Real life experience, LUCKIEST
                Lighthouse24 Ranger