Post a new topic
    3 Replies Latest reply on May 15, 2008 10:59 PM by ciordia9

Starting my own  business

michael2 Wayfarer
      I have an excellent degree. I have expert skills. I have been told that I am a stunning trainer.

I want to make money selling my knowledge and skills.

How do I start out.

I have afulltime faculty position right now
        • Re: Starting my own  business
          EL_DollarShop Adventurer
          There is only one way to make an Idea come true when starting a business.
          Have a business, and marketing stratadgy!
          No idea where to start? Try the SBA(Small Business Association), SCORE they are free!
          But in other words for any one wanting to start a business no mater what they plan to do, they have to put it on paper exactly what, and why they want to do it!

• Many years ago I had a small gym/dojo where I taught martial arts, my worst failure was my partner in which I opened the business with. Physical fitness is on many more peoples minds these day than 20 years ago, but do you have the statisics of who might want to come to your place of business? Have you considered what it will take to be on your own? And why?*

Here is a link to a sample Business Plan that will assist you in things you need to consider, and think about way before you venture on your own.

http://sbaer.uca.edu/
          • and*
          http://www.scribd.com/word/embed/294192?slag=Sample-Business-Plan-Outline

The above links can give you a good idea of where to start, but remember that your not with out help on figuring it out to where it is compliant to SBA requirements for loans, and such. But if you start your biz plan now even if it's written by hand on paper, they can help you better than if you walk in there blind.

Good Luck to ya! Make people healthy!
            LUCKIEST Guide
            Starting my own business,

Start small or part time while you have this full time position.