Post a new topic
    7 Replies Latest reply on Apr 21, 2008 12:55 AM by Lighthouse24

Lease a space

S.Scrubs Newbie
      I am very new at this small business venture and would appreciate some advice. I am in the planning stage to start a small business. I inquired about a space to lease to open up a retail medical uniform store. The space is 3580 sq ft and the gross monthly lease is $8200.00. Is this a reasonable price for a place that is developing in a fast growing small city? What does "gross monthly" lease mean? Does it include utilities and are business leases negotiable or is the price set? I do not have a business realtor to ask these question and I'd appreciate some advice from the "pros." Thanks.
        • Re: Lease a space
          Lighthouse24 Ranger

Yes, a gross monthly lease commonly means the rent, taxes, maintenance, cleaning, and utilities are included. Without knowing exactly where the property is located and the class of space it is, it's impossible to say if that's a reasonable price or not. In many small cities, you wouldn't find anything that expensive -- yet in some of the fast growing upscale communities that surround metro areas, it would be reasonable. My suggestion would be to browse some of your local commercial realtors' websites for properties in the same area and compare.

Hope this helps. Welcome to the community and best wishes.
          1 of 1 people found this helpful
              S.Scrubs Newbie
              Thank you for the information. I will do some more research on surrounding areas for lease.
                  S.Scrubs Newbie
                  LH24,

Thank you for the advice. I read a little about the SCORE on this BOA forum. I will be attending a small business seminar in May to learn more on how to get started. I have books to learn more about the business plan, but have not compose one, yet. Is there an expert who does it for a fee and how much?