Post a new topic
    22 Replies Latest reply on Sep 27, 2010 10:04 AM by SBC Team

I NEED A SPIRIT BOOSTER

chinahdoll Wayfarer
      I am doing the research to starting my own dessert catering business. I have NO business knowledge whatsoever. I am a stay home mom and have been for years. While doing my research and reading up on the different aspects of starting and running a business...I've become a little discouraged. I would just love for someone to give me a little advice on how they overcame the hurdles of all the business lingo. If there is anyone else out there that has gone from non-productive to business owner can you help me out by telling me how you overcame the feeling that maybe you've bitten off more than you can chew.

I do believe I'm capable of doing this but I just get a little discouraged because of all the unfamiliar language...I've been living in a Rated G land for years raising my kids so the whole aspect of being my own boss is almost foreign.

Any positive words or advice would really help me out...thank you so much!!
        • Re: I NEED A SPIRIT BOOSTER
          nMoncrief Adventurer
          Chinadoll,

I can tell a lot about you, believe it or not, just by reading your post. You come across as very intellegent. Don't sell yourself short just because you don't know the meaning of an acronymn or two. Any person who is smart and has a willingness to work hard can be a successful business person. You can learn the basic business concepts by talking to others. Or better yet, pick up a copy of "An Idiot's Guide to Starting Your Own Business." Then, you won't feel intimidated when talking with bankers, suppliers, friends, etc. If the Idiot's Guide can teach me to coach basketball, I'm sure they can help you through your crisis.

As least you're not foolishly believing it's going to be easy. If it were easy, everyone would be self-employed. Just set your goals high and don't let anything stop you.

Neil Moncrief