Post a new topic
    27 Replies Latest reply on May 3, 2008 6:31 PM by gouhar

Intereseted in your thoughts on business growth??

aelliott Wayfarer
      Excited about the opportunity to participate in this forum. I currently work as a corporate officer in a local defense contracting consulting organization. However, I am also a pursuing my doctorate in organizational leadership. I am in the process of determining my dissertation topic and I am very interested in researching a topic that would benefit small and mid sized businesses. I would be interested in hearing from any of you regarding your ideas of the major challenges facing small businesses.

Thanks.
        • Re: Intereseted in your thoughts on business growth??
          LUCKIEST Guide
          Interested in your thoughts on business growth
          Welcome to this web site.
          There are so many major challenges facing small businesses.
          It will be interesting to read replies,
          LUCKIEST
            AdamG46 Newbie
            I can only comment on small businesses in Australia but I am sure there are not too many differences apart from what constitutes a small business. In Australia it is likely to be around 20 employees or less whereas I suspect you might be talking about businesses of up to say 200 people.

I worked in the aerospace industry for about 10 years, but that was many years ago. For the last 18 years I have been consulting to small businesses (as we define them). From this experience the major challenges I note relate to management skills, including both financial management and marketing.

Most small businesses are started by people with a trade or technical background, and they are likely to have spent many years developing and honing those skills. Yet they will have spentvirtually no time at all developing and learning management skills, and usually don't recognise the need for them.