Post a new topic
    19 Replies Latest reply on Apr 16, 2008 5:02 PM by DJ Lash

Word of mouth isn't enough, how can I get to the next level

DJ Lash Newbie
      I have a small, DJ side business that, for the most part, I run strictly by word-of-mouth advertising. I have about 10 years of experience as a DJ and very limited experience as a business owner. I work about 4 months out of the year just by telling everyone I talk to that I DJ. Now, I would like to take this hobby and turn it into a real business. I have acquired, over time, at least two whole sets of the necessary equipment needed to run a DJ event. It is now time for me to dedicate the time, effort and energy that I put into my 9 to 5 and at least dedicate that same effort and energy to building my own business. I would love to make this a business in which I can really generate a substantial 2nd income and eventually build it to the point that I can not handle the work load by myself. As of right now I get most of my work during the change of seasons in Fall and Spring. My question is how can I get a steady flow of business and even get to the point where I can help my community by providing work for some of the talented individuals I know that can use some extra income?

Please advise,
      DJ Lash of Trey Maven Entertainment, Sole Prop
        • Re: Word of mouth isn't enough, how can I get to the next level
          virtualdjs Newbie

Hi Lash,

The first investment you need to make is some CDs by Mark Farrel called "Getting What Your Worth"

It's like $100 but you'll it's an investment that will litterly change the way you think about how and what you are doing as an event professional and how to make a living as an event professional.

I've been a Mobile DJ for 15 years, I went Full Time 3 years ago . . . I wish I had 15 years ago. The first thing I did was raise my rates, train train train, read read read & research. The ADJA was another great resource.