Post a new topic
    12 Replies Latest reply on Mar 7, 2009 7:33 PM by herpipau

New to the Forum- How Do I Start My Own Tax Business??

Tiki06 Wayfarer
      I am currently an auditor at a CPA firm, I previously worked as a contract auditor for the Department of Defense. At some point I'd like to start my own small business, something I can do from home. I'm interested in starting a tax business because there will always be a need for tax professionals. My issue is that I have a BBA with a concentration in Accounting but I have never taken a tax class. I'll be taking a tax class this summer to qualify to sit for the CPA. I'd like to if any has any advice on how to learn as much about taxes as possible or about starting my own tax business?
        • Re: New to the Forum- How Do I Start My Own Tax Business??
          LUCKIEST Guide
          How Do I Start My Own Tax Business Easy, I did it, You can do it.
          First welcome to this web site. Not that it makes any difference, but where are you.
          Being an auditor at a CPA firm is a great start.
          A Business and marketing Plan would help.
          Do you know about SCORE?? SCORE is FREE and they can help you start
          your own tax business.
          I can also help (and there are other accountants on this web site) if you have specific questions.
          Good luck, LUCKIEST
          1 of 1 people found this helpful
              Tiki06 Wayfarer

I'm located in the DC Metro Area. No I do not know about SCORE, can you tell me more about it and how I can gain more tax knowledge?
                  BarbTNMUSA Wayfarer

To find the SCORE nearest your location, all you need to do is go to http://www.score.org/findscore/index.html
                  , enter your zip code and wait for the search results. SCORE can be a wonderful resource as well.