Post a new topic
    9 Replies Latest reply on Apr 3, 2008 1:35 PM by ScottJ

Questions for a sole proprietor....

design76 Newbie
      Hi all! I'm a graphic design freelancer and I also have a reseller's permit as well. This is probably a very DUMB question (bear with me), but do I count everything that my clients pay me as income? For example--

I design a mailer....I charge a design fee, charge the print plus a markup, then add on postage and state tax and voila...that's my total.

Now when I report this and they send me the check for the whole shebang, do I report the whole shebang as income? Even though I had to pay the printer and pay postage and taxes? I pay the taxes to the state quarterly...

I've been freelancing for 3 years but this is the first year (2007) I've operated with a reseller's permit so I'm just not sure how it all works...

My second question is what (out of the above example) would be my deductions? The print actual cost only?

• Re: Questions for a sole proprietor....
          Lighthouse24 Ranger
          Welcome to the community. Yes, your gross receipts (Schedule C) are the total amount they pay you.

Right now, it sounds like sales tax is being collected twice on the same items (once when something is sold to you, and again when you sell it to the customer). Sales tax should only be collected once, when you sell the item -- you should be able to buy your supplies, materials, etc. tax exempt. In some states, your resellers permit is all you need to do that, and other states, you need to fill out some type retail tax exemption form and place it on file with your suppliers or vendors. Whichever it is, do it, as it will save you (and therefore your customer) money.