Post a new topic
    7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 18, 2008 2:17 PM by NetMarketer

Online Marketing

ALIMALA Newbie

I am an Occupational Therapist who is in the works of developing a website for practitioners. I am trying to determine costs for selling space on my website, but haven't found much information out there, beside 'pay per click.' My background is healthcare, and I don't understand some of the technical terms I've read, as well as knowing how to sell/market/negotiate with potential advertisers. Does anyone have input on how to come up with rates for various sized space, contract plans, and any other helpful information?

Also, any tips on getting advertisers to post ads during the launching of the website? I know this is hard because there won't be any traffic, but any advice will be greatly appreciated.

• Re: Online Marketing
          RongDesign Adventurer
          What space are you selling them? Are you make each one a personal website or just an ad on your homepage?
            NatOnline Tracker
            Hello ALIMALA,

I may be interested, please note that your site will be penalized by Google if you don't put a NO FOLLOW meta tag if you sell advertising. To be powerful enough, your site must get traffic from different sources besides search engines. Your site must get high traffic too.

Good luck
              HotCocoa Wayfarer
              As far as advise for starting out. I would suggest setting up afiliate advertising like "linkshare" or "comission junction" and place advertising from relevant channels within your site. I would also suggest a specific page dedicated to advertising on your site. As far as what to charge for space, this is always a little tricky. There are a lot of variables to consider. How many adslots per page, position, your site demographics -- many a 300 page book can be found on the shelves of your local book seller.