Post a new topic
    6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 15, 2008 1:03 PM by TLRInsnAcc

How much does it cost to set up an LLC in Virginia?

poloi3eai2 Wayfarer
      Hello everyone I'm a newbie here and am in the process of setting up a music programming business. I've been going to SCORE and various free small business help centers and I'm getting different information about the cost and process of setting up an LLC. The first one I went to told me $1000 and I need to get a lawyer to look it over. The other told me $500-600 and maybe I should just start off as a sole proprietor. The last one told me only $100. I've decided to be an LLC to protect my personal assets in case anything happens to the business. But some people make it seem like a hard tedious process and others make it seem so easy. I'd like to know what everybody here has done and what it cost to set up an LLC.
        • Re: How much does it cost to set up an LLC in Virginia?
          yMladenov Newbie
          sry for the offtopic, but I'd suggest starting with a SP, since it is easier to manage, and some expenses are not so great on it. To get a clearer view get a sheet of paper, split it in two
          and get LLC on the one side, SP on the other. Make a list of the pros and cons of the two legal forms. Most times it is better to start off as a SP and later switch to LLC. Don't worry about your property - you can always "freez" you SP if it get's on the wrong way. Good Luck.
            LUCKIEST Guide
            How much does it cost to set up an LLC in Virginia. Good question.
            and it is nice to know you are going to SCORE. SCORE is FREE.
            To set up an LLC could be FREE if you do it yourself.
            All you have to do is go on line to IRS.gov and fill in the forms.
            You will also get a Federal ID Number at NO cost.
            Everybody in business should have an Accountant, a Lawyer
            and maybe an Insurance Agent.
            Good luck, LUCKIEST