Post a new topic
    12 Replies Latest reply on Mar 17, 2009 2:23 PM by pezz26

Between a Rock and a hard place!

jslatt27 Wayfarer
      Hello to all,
      I am glad I found this web site because getting accurate information from people that you can trust is sometimes difficult. I am a Master Electrician and have been in the trade 18 years, I have worked for a large union shop as a superintendant for several years. Last year, I decided to start my own business on the side (Electrical Contractor) becuase working for myself is something I have always wanted to do. I didnt take out any bank loans or 2nd mortgages on my house but I did aquire 3 or 4 credit cards that are close to beinig maxed out as I am writing this. Everything went well for about 8 or 9 months now work has slowed down and I am struggling to pay the bills that I have racked up through the business, I can't use any of the money from my full time job because that pays all of the bills in the household budget, child care ,mortgage, utilities, vehicle payments and so on.

I really do want to make this work and eventually take the leap and go full-time but right now, it's stressfull on all involved I really can't dedicate a whole lot of time in finding new work because of my full time job.

I am sure someone can relate to this and give me some tips. Thanks
        • Re: Between a Rock and a hard place!
          lowdose Wayfarer
          You need to organize those credit balances under a single, low-to-zero interest account. You'll likely find an offer from any of the major credit cards for a free balance transfer to an account with a promotional APR. You need to make some sacrifices to budget 12 payments (one a month) to pay down that balance within a year. But I can't stress this enough: you can't run a business with credit card debt. It will kill you.
            LUCKIEST Guide
            27, Welcome to this web site and good luck.
            Starting a new business is the American Dream.