Post a new topic
    3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 3, 2017 6:45 PM by moderator_lisa

How can I have an ethical business?

ksp33 Newbie

I am writing this post in hopes I can find answers for my business. I am new to writing anything personal about my life or in fact even talking about my life to anyone.

I worked in the cosmetic industry for many, many years and was approached with an opportunity to work with one of the biggest cosmetic research and development companies in the world. I became the US distributor for this line and found myself hitting the same roadblock with every big opportunity that came my way- pricing.

With every opportunity to make it “big” in this industry required me to raise my MSRP pricing close to 300% which they said would be a “fair” margin leaving me to believe this is exactly why “the rich get richer, and the poor get poorer” My next question is: Can I even make it in this industry living with morals and conviction? I have wrestled with this question every waking moment for the past 7 months and I have accepted that my answer is no. With the excuse from these large agencies being “your product is worth more that 400 dollars” but to me, worth is subjective. What is a fact is that my prices don’t have to be that much. I am torn everyday looking at my family struggle day in and day out with no income because I am not able to look passed my conviction and turning away multi-million dollar deals because I am not ready to commit myself to a life of deceit. Please understand I am not here to gloat that I am living an honest life because my conviction truly has become my enemy. If you find it in your heart to give advice to a lost soul, please do. I am desperate for answers even if it means having to hear that I am naïve to the realities of business. If this is true, I am willing to give up everything and move onto the next chapter of my life because I truly believe that the rich do not deserve to get richer.