Post a new topic
    6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 21, 2017 6:16 PM by thevideoguy

What's wrong with my P&L?

scott7246 Newbie

Hey Everyone,

I've been running a family landscaping business for over 20 years with my 2 brothers. We are all equal partners and profits are distributed equally. We have always looked at the financials of our company as a whole and just assumed we were all pulling our own weight.

Well this past winter one of us decided to class all income/direct expenses by crew and to calculate gross profit per crew. All overhead expenses were split across the crews by % of total income earned per crew.

This revealed that one brother was generating almost 70% of the income while the other 2 brothers generate only 30%.

Naturally the brother earning the majority of the income feels taken advantage of and unfairly compensated.

I have link to our p&l here.  (Link Removed)

Thought? Ideas? ------ We need to come to a reasonable resolution.

Thanks

• Re: What's wrong with my P&L?
          lwjim Adventurer

Hi Scott,

We removed the links to your P&L report as it violated our community standards in regards to personal/confidential information.

Best,

Jim Finch

mggpatt Adventurer

You are in a tough situation Scott.

On one hand if you just look at the realities and take family out of the equation, the one doing the most work would seem to earn the most return.