Post a new topic
    9 Replies Latest reply on Oct 23, 2016 6:26 PM by moderator_lisa

Need an advice that can change my life

raftam Scout

Hi,

I am seeking a professional advice from any experienced business
      owner.

I am currently a softwear programmer and have been doing
      this for last 15 years. I create applications and websites. I also do trading
      on the side which brings me a little bit of extra cash.  But now I came across an opportunity that got
      me to scratch my head.

I have a friend that owns a sporting goods store and he is retiring.
      His store is strategically and geographically located in a good part of town with
      good amount traffic.  He has been doing
      this for last 23 years and made a good living of it too. He mainly sells soccer
      stuff which is growing now these days.
      His mentality (business aspect) is old fashion and the way he ran the business
      is not up to latest technologies and marking/advertising ways. Basically the
      store is open 6 days a week with no means of advertising and only by word of
      mouth.

Now, he is offering me to buy the business from him and take
      over everything under the same name. I have some knowledge of business, inventory,
      cash flow and income statement and  ….

And I know I can take this store to next level with new technology and marketing that
      is out there.

I know that I need to do my homework about the business first
      and find out everything about the store, leasing, overhead and so on. Now my
      question is, should I go for it? This means that I won’t be doing programing
      (as a source of income) any more. But on the other hand I wonder that how long
      should I work for someone else. NOTE, that I am a single person, no wife or children.
      This gives me an advantage to sell my house and live in the back of the store
      for a while.

Any advice would be gratefully appreciated.

Thanks