Post a new topic
    4 Replies Latest reply on Oct 21, 2016 7:18 PM by LUCKIEST

Southern Vegan Restaurant

chefkeena Newbie

I'm looking to expand my catering company into a small restaurant.  We have about 6 vegan restaurants in town and I would like to start another focusing on southern and Cajun food.  Some of these restaurants have been around about 5 plus years and two under a year.  Four are owned by the same company just different styles of food.  We have a growing population of young adults who are looking to eat help.  As a vegan myself, it's hard to find restaurants when you are out and about the city to grab a quick bit.  I live in a city of 1.7 million people with over 4 military bases.  Is it a good idea?  Where do I start with design planning?  Note, I'm a certified chef and worked in the accounting industry for a public company for 14 plus year reconciling, doing A/P and A/R. I have a master of management degree and have utilized my management skills in the accounting industry.  I do not have working in a food industry since I was a teenager.  My husband has 8 years of management experience in the fast food industry.  He will be working with me.  This will not be his main job because he is a minister.  Any suggestion and help is greatly appreciated.  Another goal of this restaurant will be to help young adults with special needs.  I have three adopted children with special learning disabilities.  I would love to training special needs young adults in work ethics, management, and cooking. 

• Re: Southern Vegan Restaurant
          LUCKIEST Guide

First of all, welcome to the Community.

You posted a most interesting set of questions (and I will get back to them).

Yes you said that you have a masters degree.

I usually talk about a Business Plan, the plan being a road map to success.

I also talk about SCORE. SCORE is FREE both in person and on line.

Back to the restaurant. There is much discussion about people going out LESS