Post a new topic
    4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 21, 2016 6:21 PM by moderator_lisa

Hi everyone I need some advice

intrepid Newbie

I own my own business in souther California.  But lately I have been looking for  a change. I am a consulting geologist and on a whim was looking at other firms in the northern California  area,  I mean extreme north, to southern Oregon . I happened upon a company whose owner wants to retire he is several years older than I.

Here is the gist of my questions.  We are both  well known in our industry in our areas. I am thinking of perhaps moving up north  and taking over his business as he retires.  In this business  the consulting is technical  but the relationships can me more personal.  Your dealing with the stability of someones home. Have been doing this for 40 years and he about the same .

Unfortunately  due to an ex partner have no cash reserves, no retirement savings and nothing to fall back on. I just rent here in so cal but he rent has gone through the roof, and is more expensive than when I was fortunate enough town a home.

Is the risk moving up there  to big to take? His business is successful.  Also  how can I buy the  the business with out any money? Can iWork as a w-2 employee  at a lesser pay and have the excess directed into an escrow account  to be used in the purchase.

What  risks do you see? what benefits? 

Am I missing any big points? 

I open to all thoughts, points of view, positive or negative,. 

At heart I am  a scientist.

• Re: Hi everyone I need some advice
          Moderator Rebecca Guide

Hi intrepid!  Welcome to our community.  The first idea i have is to try to convince the current owners to do a seller carry back, kind of like a rent to own, where they act as the bank and you pay them back - eventually buying them out over a specified period of time. If your initial start up shows a profit, you may find securing a loan or finding an investor that is willing to back you.