Post a new topic
    3 Replies Latest reply on Feb 27, 2008 1:41 PM by Lighthouse24

Technology and the process

Excellent Adventurer
      With technology and software constantly changing and people not having the time to read manuals I'm wondering if it's "o.K." that we don't have to learn the old fashion way of performing a task? Has anyone heard of Dr. William Deming? Is there a right and a wrong way of doing something? Computers allow the user different options. Is this good or bad? I guess what I'd like to know is--because software allows us to do a certain task many different ways, does the end result come out the same?
        • Re: Technology and the process
          LUCKIEST Guide
          Good Question. I am a Quickbook Consultant and using Q B has changed accounting.
          In the old days (B C) before computers there were Debits and Credits. And the Debits
          had to equal the Credits. No longer.

William Edwards Deming (October 14, 1900December 20, 1993) was an American statistician,
          college professor, author, lecturer, and consultant. Deming is widely
          credited with improving production
          in the United States during World War II, although he is perhaps best known for his work in Japan.
          There, from 1950 onward he taught top management how to improve design
          (and thus service),
          product quality, testing and sales (the last
          through global markets) through various methods,
          including the application of statistical methods such as analysis of variance and hypothesis testing.
          Deming made a significant contribution to Japan's later renown for innovative high-quality products
          and its economic power. He is regarded as having had more impact upon Japanese manufacturing
          and business
          than any other individual not of Japanese heritage.
          Despite being
          considered something of a hero in Japan, he was only beginning to win