Post a new topic
    6 Replies Latest reply on Feb 21, 2015 9:36 AM by Moderator Cath

Starting my Business

chamane Adventurer

Hi.  I was wondering if anyone had any advise on how to get my business going.  I recently began a Photo DVD Montage/Slideshow business that creates beautiful, affordable, and personal DVD KeepSake Slideshow movies for any life event (weddings, anniversaries, birthdays, birth announcements, vacations, memorial tributes, etc.)  I have created a website, and ordered business cards.  I have also got a Facebook Page, and am learning to use Twitter.  I also created packets that I sent out to funeral homes.  I have not heard back from any of these.  I also have run ads in the newspaper but these have been quite expensive since I am just starting out.

Does anyone have any other ideas of how to market such a business and get it off of the ground?  I have a great product and folks can see a few samples of my work on my website but I am having difficulty marketing it and so far have only sold 2 DVDs.  Thanks for any suggestions!

Chamane

• Re: Starting my Business
          LUCKIEST Guide

Welcome to the Community Chamane.

It sounds like you are making all the right moves, (ie  Website, Twitter and Facebook).

The business cards are also very important and you should hand them

out freely, like everywhere you go. (Post office, beauty parlor, every where in town).

Have you thought about a Trade Show??

Try getting involved with a local charity or the local library.

Do a free show for the library or charity  and let them do your advertising for your show.

THINK OUTSIDE THE BOX.

I agree with you, newspaper ads are expensive and why funeral homes??

Best of luck, LUCKIEST

chamane Adventurer