Post a new topic
    2 Replies Latest reply on Feb 8, 2015 6:49 PM by Moderator Cath

Sell my patent or try to get manufacturing and sell it myself?

linda deeren Wayfarer

I am very close to being patent pending for an infant's pajama. I have asked several people about our product and what they thought of the idea and it is favorable. All said they would buy it. I am just wondering should I sell the patent outright or try to get manufacturing and sell it? I am also a full time college student with Business Management as my major.

• Re: Sell my patent or try to get manufacturing and sell it myself?
          Scott Navigator

There are a lot of unknown variables to answer you, but I don't think you're asking the right question.

The BEST advice I can give you is to test the market before you decide what your next steps will be.

MANY people have thought they invented the next great thing, and many times their idea sounds plausible, but more often than not, they waste a lot of time and money to find out that the market isn't there or that there's a fatal flaw.

Testing the market for you product is MUCH easier than it's ever been before by using Facebook and their targeting system. Google Adwords can work well too.

This is going to sound odd to you and go against the grain, but I'd create a website landing page to sell the product. Set up a Facebook business page for the product and then promote it using their targeting and ad system BEFORE you ever even have the product ready for sale.

We used to do this by refunding the purchasers money immediately, telling them that we were sorry but we are sold out and will notify them when more is available.