Post a new topic
    4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 29, 2008 5:14 PM by designer

Knowing When to Leap

frazzle Wayfarer
      I have been moonlighting my business for three years. It is growing, and until now there has been no conflict with my day job. But now there is, and between the two, of course I'd choose my business.
      But my question is, what are the indicators of when to leave the full time cubicle for full time entreprenuership? Is it when you've had enough of your job? Is it when the income from the business matches or exceeds the cube job? Is it when your business is stable? Or when, as in my case, the business begins to demand time that was previously dedicated to the cube? Mind you, I do not work in a cube, I only use that as a metaphore.
      So, for those who left the cube for the biz, how did you handle it?
        • Re: Knowing When to Leap
          LUCKIEST Guide
          Knowing When to Leap. It is the American Dream to go into one own business.
          What kind of business?? and Where?? Do you have a Business Name??
          Go to Members page and add a few words about you and your business.
          Do you know about SCORE??. SCORE is FREE.
          SCORE will help you develop a Business and Marketing Plan and MORE FREE.
          LUCKIEST
            Lighthouse24 Ranger

This is a really great question, and probably one that most members have asked themselves (or will ask eventually). Making the leap from a "side" business to a full-time enterprise is a first stage business growth investment decision. In many ways, it's the same type of decision as an IPO, a VC investment, an angel infusion, or a loan from friends -- only instead of risking a large amount of money (and someone else's money at that), you're betting a huge part of who you are and everything you might potentially become.