Post a new topic
    16 Replies Latest reply on Mar 8, 2008 11:42 AM by The Expert

What are some effective ways to steer people to my website?

Explorer Newbie
      My website is only 2 weeks old. I am a newbie about websites. I am relying on the designer/host for suggestions to get my site to people who need my services. My eyes glaze over when you all talk about SEO. So are there some effective, SIMPLE, ways I can help my website get seen by the people who need me?
        • Re: What are some effective ways to steer people to my website?
          wexler Newbie

There are several methods available to you:

The first and easiest is to list your website with the most popular search engines. Because many people use a search engine as their path to finding something, they might offer a good avenue for you to be found, when you first launch your website.

To start, you might want to navigate to these URLs offered by the search engines and enter your website's URL Address:

Google: http://www.google.com/addurl
          Microsoft's Live: http://beta.search.msn.com/docs/submit.aspx
          Yahoo: http://siteexplorer.search.yahoo.com/submit

These are just a few and keep in mind that when you posted your website in these pages, it could be several weeks before they send a web-spider along to review your website and list it in their databases.

Another avenue to consider is leveraging some of the blogs that are publically available. A BLOG is basically an online journal kept by individuals, companies, etc. You might wish to seek out some blogs that cater to the same industry/category for which your website caters and write a comment or entry about your thoughts or optinions and include a URL link of your website (checking with the terms and conditions of what is allowed to be posted, of course).