Post a new topic
    14 Replies Latest reply on Jan 17, 2014 9:26 AM by Moderator Melinda

Anyone use Turbotax?

MrWHY Adventurer

I just had some questions about turbo tax. I wanted to know if you can use the same version year after year with an update. Or do you have to buy the new version every year? so if I got 2012 version can I use it to do 2013 taxes or do I have to buy the 2013 version?

Also is it possible to do other people taxes with Turbotax? I have several friend who would like me to do their taxes.

• Re: Anyone use Turbotax?
          Moderator Berta Guide

Hi MrWHY & welcome to the community.

I have used the free online edition of Turbotax for the last few years. I've not had any issues with it so far. I know that doesn't really answer your question but I wanted to share my experience with Turbotax to date. I hope some of our members can chime in & help find an answer for you.

~Berta

Tran Nguyen Tracker

Hello Mr.Why,

As an accountant, I would highly recommend against using last year version to file present year taxes.

While there are time when tax laws for an individual does not change drastically from one year to the next'; there are time when it does change drastically (2013 and 2014 with ObamaCare) that can really land you in an audit.

The prior tax software also does not come with the updated tax bracket which do change on a year-to-year basis. Lastly, your 1041 will be submitted with 2012 instead of the correct year dated on them. That is a very easy way to land yourself in an audit.

Sorry to be the bringer of bad news. But updating each year is the safest and best way of staying on top of your taxes.

Tran Nguyen

Accountant

chicagocio Scout