Post a new topic
    2 Replies Latest reply on Jan 7, 2014 7:50 PM by PapaGator

Funding not found for RV Park

PapaGator Scout

I have been trying every avenue I can find to search for funding. There are a lot of scamming funding companies. I tried to reach Bank of America. They sent me to the Merrill Lynch arm that asked for $250K  in my account before they could proceed. I would not be asking if I was already a rich person. Property is valuable but not the mobile homes. If my dirt is valuable then I can offer it as collateral. I would stick my neck out to get this going. I hope others are not facing this type of obstacle as they search for funding. Happy New Year to all.

• Re: Funding not found for RV Park
          Tran Nguyen Tracker

PapaGator,

Finding funding is always difficult -- especially without an inside road or map to follow. As an accountant, I see this a lot and have addressed it quite a bit throughout my career.

The main issue with finding funding is that banks are mainly concerned with a "working & functional" model. This means, they expect you to have it all up and running before they will push the button to give you money. This is problematic since it is only geared toward helping up and running businesses already -- and leaves all the start-up in the dusts.

That is why I always recommend approaching Small Business Associations (SBA) for funding and assistant. Your land would be great collateral since they aren't making any more of it (haha). But they are also opened to listening to ideas and you get to "pitch" your business plan.

Also, consider approaching the accountant, lawyer, or family members. Many of whom will have connections with bankers, financial institutes, and investors. This would give you an inside track to getting funding -- and making it much easier. Finally, consider credit unions -- as they are non-profits and regulate their own lending; they are normally much more open to lending.