Post a new topic
    5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 11, 2014 8:47 AM by crifjohnson

Ready to start something!

jthebuilder Wayfarer

Greetings and Happy New Year!

I am a retired Soldier, who is 51 years old, and I recently retired from the Army. I served 20 years. During my time in the Army, I swore off working for someone EVER again. I have had several "epiphany's" while in the service as to how what I wanted to do as an entrepreneur after retirement. Those ideas have worn off, or I completely have forgotten what they were. Now, as before, I find myself looking to start a business. 

Since retirement I have worked for a big box store working 15 hours a week. ( I know that I said I wouldn't work for someone again, but hey! I have to have income!) I had a customer there tell me how he is doing as a house "flipper", and he indicated that he usually has three homes going at once, and owns 10 more homes as rentals. The idea of flipping houses sounds great! I know that I could remodel some homes, since I have some experience with home repair! I could bring my son in to assist, and my wife has a degree in finance. (Right now she is working for a big box store as a hiring manager). Now I am seriously considering this venture but I need more information.

I do not have any capital. I know that the Veteran is guaranteed small business loans, and I know that the banks will not just hand me the money either. I thought that I would go and ask for some sort of loan which would finance my first purchase, then remodel, sell and recoup. With that as a first, I feel that then I could pay back part, some or most of the loan off the bat. I just don't know if a bank would even entertain an idea like that.

Secondly, I feel that I could possibly start a gas station / market out next to a thriving market where their business is near a school, and become a successful market owner.

So the bottom line to all of this is where do I start?  

• Re: Ready to start something!