Post a new topic
    8 Replies Latest reply on Nov 5, 2013 9:14 AM by Moderator_JoleK

Going from restaurant to retail

icetzou Scout

Time for me to ask a question this time.

I started my first cafe 3 years ago and it quickly grew into 3 locations today. However, the problem that plagues every restaurant is the revenue ceiling. Even if the cafe seems busy all the time, there's always a cap that cannot be surpassed due to number of tables and table turnover rate. So the grow parallel to our brick and mortar locations, I'm considering put a few of our signature drinks such as the house "milk tea" on shelves. However, I have ZERO experience in food retail and the different hoops that I have to jump throw to get there. So any takers?

• Re: Going from restaurant to retail
          Moderator Berta Guide

Congratulations on the quick growth of your company! You've asked some wonderful questions and I'm sure that someone within our community can help you with suggestions and advice.

~Berta

Jim Peters Tracker

Are you also doing takeaways. They would help in increasing your revenue and would not burden your logistics. You could also package your spices / tea/ pickles/ savouries/ desserts and sell them through stores.

icetzou Scout

Yes, we are already doing take out, but I want to go further than that. Retailing will help us reach customers outside of our demographics and establish a stronger brand.

Guide

Hi Icetzou,

My question to you is, are you already selling your "milk tea" drink on your own shelves (I don't mean take out)? I would start there. Then you could expand to your own site (if you already have one). This way your customers don't have to come into your shop.

Melinda

icetzou Scout