Post a new topic
    8 Replies Latest reply on Jul 11, 2013 1:36 PM by Kyle Penland

What are best ways to fund a faith-based radio program?

growingglo Wayfarer

Will banks consider sponsoring or awarding a grant to a faith-based nonprofit for a radio program designed to encourage youth to stay in school?

• Re: What are best ways to fund a faith-based radio program?
          Moderator Berta Guide

Hi growingglo and welcome to the community!

Great question and very noble and honorable cause. In listening to the radio, I have heard a lot of the Faith-based stations ask for donations from listeners and local businesses to help keep them afloat.

You have come to a great place to get input though. Can anyone help with ideas for funding?

~Berta

deltacredit2013 Adventurer

In a word- No.  Faith-based organizations are typically not the direction banks want to go and grants really don't exist the way people think they do.  I have 15 years in banking, and my experience tells me that you are going to want to look elsewhere or change your approach.  You would be better off selling advertising during the radio program to organizations that could benefit from the exposure- maybe a local community college, a church, a chamber of commerce trying to push an education committee.

Good luck.

growingglo Wayfarer

Thanks Michael for sharing your banking experience. I wondered about the

faith-based approach.

We know that hurting youth can choose to be encouraged with the Scriptures

while incarcerated. Our adult ex-felons know the Bible. We aim to redirect

youth, however, before they get in trouble.

Working toward change,

Gloria Shell Mitchell, Author

The Garbage Man's Daughter: Letting Go of Shame,

Letting Go of SECRETS

On Tue, Mar 19, 2013 at 7:27 AM, Michael Holmes <

Moderator Cath Guide