Post a new topic
    5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 21, 2012 1:16 PM by benjarriola

Graphic Design ?

grafikrtist Scout

I am a freelance graphic designer. In terms of word of mouth advertising. Which is better. Direct mail or cold calling ?

• Re: Graphic Design ?
          OfficeGoddess Navigator

I am personally annoyed by cold call solicitations as my time is valuable.  I have had really good luck with postcard marketing, sending a series of 3 cards with similar message and different content approx 3 weeks apart.

Lily Chambers

The Virtual Office Goddess, LLC

Author: How To Do Your Own Small Business Bookkeeping

Guide

I agree with OfficeGoddess, I can not stand solicitation through the phone. I would much rather be speaking to a client than a solicitor. Besides you want to boost your business and not be viewed as a thorn. We also used fliers and mailers to promote our architectural business and got about a 1 percent return. The few clients we picked up covered the cost of the mailings, overhead in the office, and gained a small profit.

Melinda

longlivemedia Tracker

Go with the print I would say. Cold calling can definitely be annoying to be honest. I do think you need to check out the trends in print and mail advertising and see just where they're headed in the future. This article may help. http://smallbusiness.printplace.com/2012/10/13/print-and-advertising-where-its-headed/

Moderator Cath Guide

Hi Graphic Design ?,

I agree with the others.  After the flood of phone calls before the recent election, I am happy for a quieter phone and I would think some others would agree with me. I am using my caller ID more and more and do not answer unless I happen to know the person behind the number listed.

At this moment, I welcome almost anything through the mail.  I can read at my leisure and respond if I care to. 

Cath

benjarriola Wayfarer