Post a new topic
    4 Replies Latest reply on Oct 18, 2012 12:47 PM by cobase

Can I use my house as a back up for business loan?

lucy2012 Wayfarer

I'm a woman and wanted to start my own business.  I wanted to get a loan from the bank.  Can I use my house as some sort of pledge towards the loan?  I understand that loans are hard to get from banks these days.  How do I increase my chances of getting a loan?

Thank you for any advice.

Lucy

• Re: Can I use my house as a back up for business loan?
          Tran Nguyen Tracker

Hi Lucy,

It's great that you're starting your own business! Congratulations!

As an accountant, I would recommend not using your house as leverage or assurance when getting a loan. There are a lot of things that can effect your business and the last thing you want is to lose your house as well.

Also, in the event of a lawsuit -- and because your house is being used as collateral, leverage, or assurance -- you can easily lose your house in the lawsuit as well.

My recommendation on getting a loan is to 1) prepare a convincing business plan -- what your business is, what you intend on doing, what is your product, what are your markets, and etc 2) have your business plans reviewed by an accountant & lawyer -- they will be able to point out pros & cons of your business approach and any legal threats. 3) Consider approaching the same accountant -- or a family accountant -- to ask for a referral to a banker.

Remember, Accountants have dealings and professional networks in the financial world. If the accountant you approach cannot generate at least two bankers that they know on a first name basis, you want to move on and find another one. Doctors and Lawyers are also good for this as they deal with bankers frequently as well.

With a solid business plan, review and approval, and a professional referral, your chances for a loan will be improved significantly.

Tran Nguyen

Accountant & Owner

Tran'sActions Accounting, LLC