Skip navigation
Post a new topic
6 Replies Latest reply: Feb 14, 2008 1:37 PM by Maxlingo RSS

Non Profit Consulting- How much can one make?

Maxlingo Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Is there such a thing as non profit consulting? I have a masters degree in management and have helped many people in USA, UK, and Canada to start and grow their non profits. I love doing this but it takes a lot of my time. I would like to do it as a full time job but I have no idea if the income can sustain my family. Any experiences out there?
  • Re: Non Profit Consulting- How much can one make?
    LUCKIEST Master
    YES, there is non profit consulting. Tell us more. Go to Members and add a few words about
    you and your business experiences.
    I am also a Non Profit Consultant, with Quickbooks. Do you have a SPECIALITY??
    Do you want to e mail me a copy of your resume?? " pdeig@juno.com "
    Good luck, LUCKIEST
    Lighthouse24 Master

As a management consultant, I have worked extensively (though not exclusively) with non-profits. I can only do it when I really believe in the agency's mission, because the frustrations are many. To name just a few:

Unlike senior business managers, who are empowered and expected to make the strategic and tactical decisions that affect an enterprise, the executive staff of most non-profit organizations typically have to present any significant decision to a board for review and approval (one such decision would be hiring a consultant in the first place). When I bring a recommendation to a commercial firm, they normally discuss it, make a decision, and start implementing it in one afternoon. That process can take months, or even years, with a non-profit.