Post a new topic
    6 Replies Latest reply on Sep 30, 2012 1:56 PM by Moderator Berta

Mark Lane

maryandsteve Wayfarer

I'm a new business owner with no real experience and I can't afford advertising as we all know can negatively impact our profit margin, and besides word of mouth trying to figure out how to increase my client base in my community to increase my sales. It can be an overwhelming challenge to accomplish this in today's economy and with so much competition, if any business owners have any feedback I would most certainly be very grateful.

• Re: Mark Lane
          Moderator Cath Guide

Welcome, Mark - both to the community and to the world of small business ownership.  It would be helpful to those who would be willing to address your question to know if your business offers a product or a service.

Don't play down the importance of word of mouth in advertising.  A happy client/customer can go far in spreading the word in your community and besides, it is free advertising.

If you would be willing to share a little about your business and what you have to offer (without urls), we will try to share our best comments and suggestions.

Cath

maryandsteve Wayfarer

Hi, I am the proud owner and sole employee of Marks quality carpet cleaning LLC. I steam clean carpeting  anywhere their is carpeting and a need to clean it. I take pride in my work and have great prices, and only work in fairfax county to keep my gas costs down. I always ask clients to tell their neighbor's about my services and business's as well for word of mouth free advertising, but have had very limited response. How can I saterate the county with how great my service is/how my workmanship and prices beat all without spendind money I don't have on advertising?

OfficeGoddess Navigator