Post a new topic
    7 Replies Latest reply on Feb 11, 2008 2:11 PM by M&M Services

LLC Payroll in AZ

schatzie Newbie
      We recently purchased a nail salon and operate it under an LLC we just formed. The LLC has two members, my partner and myself. Our wives run the business and also have 2 other people working for them. My question is should we pay everyone including our wives using 1099-MISC or is it required that we pay them using W2? From what we know, most similar business just use 1099-MISC. I don't really care since it'll be paying to ourselves (wives), but 1099-MISC just seem so much simpler. I was wondering if there's a law regarding that for LLCs?

• Re: LLC Payroll in AZ
          dublincpa Scout
          I am an Illinois CPA, but the answer in pretty much the same far and wide. It depends.

For the unrelated workers, it is common in the nail and hair salon industries to treat them as independent contractors if they meet several tests, including but not limited to:
          • Who sets their hours? (other than the limitation of shop hours)
          • Who sets their rates?
          • Do they have their own equipment?
          • Do they pay rent or a slot fee?
          • Do they have any non-compete agreements?
          • Do they have a book of business that follows them?
          • Do they have their own insurance, reimburse you for coverage or pay it through their rents?

=>If you call the shots, they should be W-2 employees. If not, they may be IC's. Receipts being collected through the register would not help, but it isn't a deal breaker.

Treating them as W-2 employees will require the filing of payroll tax returns and payment Federal and state unemployment taxes as well as Social Security and Medicare taxes.