Post a new topic
    6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 24, 2012 6:49 AM by sophiep

One Website or Mini Sites?

Laz101 Wayfarer

Hello and thank you in advance for your responses.

My wife and I have been running a small service business for over 5 years and we recently came upon an untapped niche in our industry we will like to explore.

We have found some niche keyword specific domains and have been contemplating building a few specific minisites linking to our main site(blog) in order to reach a more targeted audience.   It seems the more I research this concept the more confused I get.  My questions are the following:

1.  Should we create a main blog, for example: "" and have some (about 10) independent optimized sites "," "," linking to our main blog or should we optimize these pages within our main blog?

2.  If we choose to create this minisite buildout concept and these domains yield the following monthly search results which one should we pick?

- HiltonHotelConference - 730

- HiltonHotelConferences - 580

I have heard that the plurals already include the singular version however they will not be an exact match.  Also if we add the word hotel we will be targeting a broader audience since "hilton conference" will still be included in the domain name, but once again it will not be an exact match.  Please help!  Which domain name should we pick?

• Re: One Website or Mini Sites?
          LLG Adventurer

I used the Google AdWords keyword tool and found the following information for you;

hilton conference, global monthly searches 22,200

hilton conferences, 590

hilton hotel conference, 3,600